The Noticer by Andy Andrews

_200_350_Book.50.coverI finished reading Andy Andrews latest novel, The Noticer, just prior to leaving for a mission trip this summer.  The story is set in a small town called Orange Beach, Alabama. (Not that Alabama is known for its beach communities.)  Like any town, there are a number of different issues happening within the communities: poverty, marital problems, shady business, etc…  What most towns do not have is a “Jones”.  Jones is the main character in the book who has an uncanny way of showing up at just the right to provide, what he considers, “perspective” to the situation.

I wouldn’t say that the book was bad, but I also wouldn’t say it was great.  For me it was just okay.  I wasn’t thrown for any surprises and as a mature Christian, I could say that I could almost foresee when Jones was going to show up, what he was going to say, and that everything was going to be okay.

If you are looking for a quick read that makes you feel good or wanting to kill some time, then this book will do just that for you.  I wasn’t inspired and can honestly say I wouldn’t read it again.  On a positive note, I will say that if you know someone who is tends to look at the glass half empty, this book may challenge them to look at the same glass half full.

Leave a Reply

